A review of Matched

I was skeptical when I flipped through the first few pages of Matched, mainly because I thought the story wasn’t strong enough. Boy was I wrong. Cassia is one of the best heroines I’ve ever read, and from me that’s saying a lot. She may seem weak in the first book, but in Crossed you can really tell how much she has evolved. I was satisfied with the ending in Reached, because all of the characters played a crucial and important part.

Matched-Trilogy-Book-Review-at-www.thebensonstreet.com_

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

I was really excited for Crossed, the second book. I couldn’t put it down. I love dystopia, so this series was a hit for me. If you’re a fan of Divergent or The Selection, then this book is perfect. The poetry that I read was magnificent in all of the books.

Leave a Reply

