A review of Dracula (by Bram Stoker)

Dracula is a gothic horror book. With that being said, it’s not like a gruesome, scary book, it’s more of a Frankenstein type of book. I’m not into vampire books or horror books, but Dracula was an enjoyable read. I didn’t know what was going to happen next, I was practically at the edge of my seat! The story is told in epistolary format, as a series of letters, diary entries, and ships’ log entries, whose narrators are the novel’s protagonists, and occasionally supplemented with newspaper clippings relating events not directly witnessed. I found that the writing made the story more real, as if I was a person reading the story in real time.

Dracula.jpg

The story is centered around Count Dracula, an elderly man who lives in a castle in Transylvania in the 1890s. He hires Jonathon Harker, a newly qualified english solicitor, to provide legal support for a real estate transaction overseen by Harker’s employer. At first, the Count entices Jonathan with his gracious manners, but soon Jonathan realizes is a prisoner in the Count’s castle. He comes across three women while wandering around the castle, and he barely escapes because the three “sisters” almost try to kill him. The Count rescues him, but shortly after he leaves Harker trapped in the castle. Jonathan manages to escape, but he knows that Dracula is not what he seems, and when more mysterious things begin to happen to the people he loves, it’s up to him to stop Count Dracula.

I really liked this book, it was mysterious and the characters were all very interesting. I recommend this book to fans of horror or classic literature. Like I said, I don’t usually read horror books, but Dracula genuinely impressed me. Bram Stoker had a unique gift for writing great fiction and horror novels, and I’ll definitely check out his other written works.

4 thoughts on “A review of Dracula (by Bram Stoker)

  1. I’ve only ever seen the ’96 adaption, which was creepy and had that strange atmosphere, which I hope shows in the book once I finally get round to reading it! It’s good to know it’s not gory, as I see quite a few ideas relying on that a lot, rather than that chilling element that vampires are usually known for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

