A review of Red Queen (by Victoria Aveyard)

I loved Red Queen, it was a stunning read, and the plot twist was unbelievable! I honestly couldn’t stop reading it, I was anxious to know what would happen. I highly recommend this book, especially to fans of dystopia and fiction. Mare Barrow’s world is thought-provoking, and it’s not like anything I’ve ever read.

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. There, before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own. Her ability is something that is incredible, but also dangerous. To cover up this impossibility, the king betroths her to his son, and Mare enters the world of the Silvers, something that she never dreamed possible. Mare risks everything she has for the one thing she believes in, a rebellion, but one wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays the only certainty is betrayal.

Mare is a genuine character. She comes across as smart, strong, brave, and sometimes funny. Most of the characters had interesting stories, and I am a huge fan of Cal. I won’t talk to much about him, but he plays a crucial part in Mare’s story, and he’s a very complex character, which I thought that made him interesting and unpredictable.

I was really surprised by this book, I didn’t think Victoria Aveyard could pull of a good, solid, decent dystopian book, but I was so wrong. I look forward to King’s Cage, the third novel in the Red Queen series that debuts in February 2017. I just finished Glass Sword (the second book in the series) a few days ago, and I highly recommend it. It’s just as spellbinding as the first book.

 

Leave a Reply

