A review of Life of Pi (by Yann Martel)

I actually saw the movie Life of Pi before I read the novel. I rarely do that, but I saw the trailer, and I was very excited to watch it. I really enjoyed the movie, the cinematography was amazing. I wanted to read the book, because I thought “I really liked the movie, so why not read the book?” I read the novel in a short amount of time, I think it was five days, and I really loved it. I thought that I wouldn’t be interested, since I saw the movie and knew what happened, but this novel was still an amazing read. It showed many things, like life is a story, goods things, and bad things, can happen. Life of Pi is extremely unique, I haven’t read a book that comes close to it, and it’s a very powerful novel.

life-of-pi

The son of a zookeeper, Pi Patel has an encyclopedic knowledge of animal behavior and a fervent love of stories. When Pi is sixteen, his family emigrates from India to North America aboard a Japanese cargo ship, along with their zoo animals bound for new homes. The ship sinks, and Pi is stranded on a life boat with zoo animals: a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and Richard Parker, a 450-pound Bengal tiger. Life on a boat with wild animals is hard on Pi, but he has much more to think about. He needs to survive, and doing that with a Bengal tiger on board is not at all easy. As Pi is trying to keep his sanity and not be eaten, he soon begins to wonder if he will live. He also questions if he’ll ever be rescued. He also questions Richard Parker. Does he care about Pi? Is he just a wild animal, or can he understand feelings?

This novel was very touching, and inspiring. Pi’s story is relatable, and it’s remarkable how he evolves as a person. I highly recommend this book, it’s a fascinating and engrossing read.

Leave a Reply

