A review of The Young Elites (by Marie Lu)

I have been wanting to read this book for a very long time, and yesterday I finished it. I read it in two days, that’s how engrossed I was with it! It’s a heart-pounding book, there are many twists, and you don’t know who’s a friend or foe. The end shocked me, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book, The Rose Society. It’s a trilogy, and the third book just came out. This novel reminded me of Red Queen, and I loved that book, so I highly recommend The Young Elites if you enjoyed Red Queen.

theyoungelites

Adelina is a young girl with a curse. Or so her father and everyone else believes. She’s a malfetto, someone who has survived a terrible illness. She and other malfettos survived an illness that marks everyone who caught it. Adelina is left with silver hair and a missing eye. Most of the malfettos are rumored to have unnatural powers. Powers that are deadly. One night Adelina discovers her own powers, but they make her do a terrible thing. Before she knows it, she’s about to be executed by the top Inquisitor, but a group of cloaked warriors save her, and take her under their wing. As she discovers more about this mysterious group, she also learns dark and frightening things about herself. She fights to become more than just a malfetto, and get revenge for all the hate she has received. The Inquisition has taken her younger sister, and she will do anything to get her back. Even if it means betrayal.

This novel is amazing, the plot is intriguing, and the characters are unforgettable. There’s lots of suspense, and you won’t see the ending coming. Marie Lu wrote a beautiful and unusual book, and I can’t wait to read the second book. The world that Adelina lives in is breathtaking, and heartbreaking. I recommend it to fantasy and dystopian readers.

2 thoughts on “A review of The Young Elites (by Marie Lu)

  1. Isn’t it interesting to read the main character who is imperfect? She’s a but crazy and a bit of a villain. It’s unlike other books I have read. And yes, very much heart pounding kind of read. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

