A review of A Monster Calls (by Patrick Ness, inspired by an idea from Siobhan Dowd)

I’ve been eager for quite some time to read A Monster Calls. I’m glad I did. It’s a powerful, unique, and painfully real story. I highly recommend this novel to any reader. Just to clarify, this is not a horror book. It’s a book about a boy, who’s coping with his Mother diagnosed with cancer. I thought it was going to be an incredibly sad story, but I was so wrong. Patrick Ness has written an amazing book, and Siobhan Dowd had a wonderful idea.

a-monster-calls

A Monster Calls

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd– whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself– Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.

My thoughts

I honestly wasn’t expecting to like this book, because as I said before, it seemed so sad. I can handle reading sad novels, so I feel lucky to have read this book. I encourage you to read A Monster Calls, the art work in it is absolutely magnificent. It really brings the book and the monster to life. I recently found out that there’s a movie (just came out in theatres, same title) based on this book. I’m not quite sure the movie will give out the same feelings as I had about A Monster Calls, but I’m going to watch it.

To sum up

I can’t think of one single bad thing about this book. The plot is strong, the characters really are unforgettable. The story will stick with you, it’s a pretty powerful book. It’s such a shame that Siobhan Dowd wasn’t able to see how well-loved this amazing novel became. I think she would be very proud.

Leave a Reply

