A long walk to water (Based on a true story) by Linda Sue Park

A long Walk to Water: an introduction

I received this book as a gift, and I read the summary on the back of the book. It caught my attention, and I finished it in two days. While the plot is sad, it brings attention to civil wars in Africa and the people (sadly, mostly children) who are affected by it. It is a powerful, real, and heartbreaking novel. A long walk to water is based on a true story. Salva Dut survived for years in refugee camps as a young boy. He lost everything, all because of war. I truly admire his courage, I can’t imagine what he went through. After I read the book, I did research on what he now does to help people in South Sudan. I’m not going to spoil this incredible story, but I would encourage you to take a look online at the amazing work this great man has done. A long walk to water is definitely a book I recommend to all readers, it will change your perspective on war and humanity. It certainly changed mine.

Here’s a short summary from A long walk to water:

a-long-walk-to-water

A long walk to water

Nya goes to the pond to fetch water for her family. She walks eight hours every day.

Salva walks away from his war-torn village. He is a “lost boy” refugee, destined to cover Africa on foot, searching for his family and safety.

Two young people…two stories.

One country: Sudan.

This mesmerizing dual narrative follows two threads-one unfolding in 2008 and one in 1985-with one hopeful message: that even in a troubled country, determined survivors may find the future they are hoping for.

My thoughts

Like I said above, this book is powerful. It has a hopeful message, and it immediately captures the reader’s attention. It’s actually considered a Junior book, (ages 9-12) but I read the reviews, and many adults read it. It does discuss mature topics for children, so I guess the author wanted them to hear this amazing story.

A long walk to water is now one of my favorite books, I will re-read it. It sheds light on war, and the people who try so hard to survive it. Mr. Dut is an incredible man who shared his personal story so that others would understand what the people of Sudan (and many other countries) deal with. Most wars go on for years, like in Salva’s case. While some help is coming to countries in Africa, it’s still not enough. This story really brought that to attention, and hopefully more will be done to save children and their families.

Leave a Reply

