A Court of Thorns and Roses review (by Sarah J. Maas)

I have been wanting to read this book ever since I read and loved the Throne of Glass (also written by Sarah J. Maas) series. I finally read it, and it was everything I hoped it would be! Amazing story, Sarah J. Maas is one of my favorite authors. She wrote A Court of Thorns and Roses beautifully, it is now one of my favorite series. If you’ve read Throne of Glass, you will love this book to pieces, it’s just as good. I can’t wait to read the second and last book, A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin, respectively.

A Court of Thorns and Roses synopsis (from A Court of Thorns and Roses)

A Court of Thorns and Roses.jpg

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it. . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.

My Thoughts

I was immediately pulled into this book, it’s an action-packed fantasy novel with romance. Feyre is one of my favorite heroine book characters. She’s smart, much smarter than her family or the faeries realize, and she also has compassion. She cares a whole lot about her family, even though they treat her horribly. She is brave, and will go down swinging. She also fights for what’s right, and protects the people she cares about

The plot

The world that the faeries live in still amazes me, even though I have read Sarah J. Maas other series. Feyre tries to gain as much knowledge about her captor (Tamlin) as much as she can, and learns more about the danger that’s plaguing Tamlin’s world. If you’re thinking that Feyre and Tamlin falling in love is so predictable, it really isn’t. There’s a major plot twist, (actually, more than one) so it’s still an intriguing and enthralling read. Even though this book was written two years ago, (the last book in the series did come out this May) it’s one of the best books I have read this year.

To sum up

If you like fantasy, you should read Sarah J. Maas’s books, they are amazing, the writing is perfect, the characters are unforgettable, unusual, and interesting. Her books are unlike anything I have ever read. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a wonderful and action-packed story. I admit, I was slightly nervous about starting this series, but only because when I read a series that a favorite author wrote, the second usually ends up  being…..meh. Sarah J. Maas creates a whole different world, and makes the characters strong and likeable. I couldn’t put this book down, it’s a story that really grabs your attention and makes you wonder.

Leave a Reply

