Flame in the Mist (by Renee Ahdieh) review

I had been eagerly anticipating this book, it came out this month. I wrapped up reading it last night, and I couldn’t wait to post a review of it. Flame in the Mist was a surprising and fresh read, so far I haven’t read a book like it! It’s set in ancient Japan, so the setting and plot of the story was eye-catching and unique. It’s been compared to Mulan and Throne of Glass, however, I found that Flame in the Mist was its own story, with its own characters. There are many twists and turns, and the book kept me engaged with the story. I can’t wait for the sequel! If you like adventure, historical fiction or a story with a strong female character, you’ll love Flame in the Mist.

Synopsis from Flame in the Mist

flame in the mist

The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor’s favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family’s standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.
Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and track down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

My thoughts

I have never read a book that had a setting in Japan, but wow, it was amazing! I thought that the plot was good, there were parts where it was a tiny bit confusing, but overall I never lost interest, if anything it was a real page-turner! I have never read Renee Ahdieh’s books before, so I was wondering if I would like her writing. She did a fantastic job with character development and the flow and organization of the story. Thanks to her, I am now impatiently awaiting the sequel.

The characters

Mariko is a strong character, she’s resilient, and even though she knows that she is looked down upon because she’s a woman, she doesn’t let that stop her from controlling her own actions and seeking revenge against the Black Clan. Mariko is exceptionally smart, and very sneaky. Even though she is sneaky, she does have honor. There are also some great quotes in this book, another thing that I really liked about it.

The Black clan is very interesting and mysterious. There’s still lots more to find out about them in the next book.

To sum up

Flame in the Mist was an adventurous and refreshing read. I really liked it, definitely a book I would read again. Even the cover was magnificent! Thanks for checking out this post, and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Flame in the Mist (by Renee Ahdieh) review

Leave a Reply

