Glitter (by Aprilynne Pike) Review

Hi everyone, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. So sorry, but a few weeks ago, I was very sick, it took me two full weeks to recover, and after that, I hadn’t been reading because, since I was sick, I fell behind of tons of things, so I was very busy. Anyway, just wanted you to know I’m not done blogging, and definitely not done reading! 🙂

 

I just finished reading a delightful, different, and stunningly good book titled Glitter. To be honest, I didn’t think I would like this book. The whole plot seemed crazy, and I’ve never come across a book like it. It’s a fresh reading experience, and there is a  huge cliff hanger.

 

Synopsis from Glitter

 

glitter.jpg

 

Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny.

Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.
Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.

But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret—falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls—is one risk she has to take.

 

My thoughts

 

Two things that almost made me not read Glitter were a. Versailles. Really? How could a book about that make any sense, and b. Drugs. I wasn’t sure how a young soon-to-be-queen turning drug dealer (although, in Danica’s defense, her mother did something awful to her) would end up being interesting, but props to Ms. Pike, because she pulled it off.  I went into this book open to whatever the plot was, and I do recommend Glitter, because even though the whole futuristic, Versailles and drug combination might not make sense, once you read the prologue, you will immediately be sucked into this refreshing read. And also, warning, a huge cliff-hanger that made me go into shock! Not so nice, but I’ll have to wait until the sequel comes.

 

The characters

 

Danica is the star of this book. While I did feel pity for her when her terrible, self-serving mother used her as a pawn, she wasn’t what you would call a likeable character. Her choices seemed selfish at times, and I just wished she would stand up to the king. She is very smart, and desperately wants to escape the nightmare her mother and the king have created for her. She also cares deeply for her friends, and her father, even though he has a dark secret.

 

Danica’s friends keep her grounded, and they know she hates the prospect of marrying the king. I’m not going to spoil anything, so that’s all I’ll say. I do suspect, however, that they will make more appearances in the sequel.

 

 

To sum up

 

Glitter is such a unique book, and I think that’s why myself and other readers found it appealing. With the YA genre and fantasy genre, I sometimes feel that creativity is lacking. It’s almost the same old stories and ideas, so reading a refreshing, new, and unexplored idea was what made Glitter shine. There is lots of palace intrigue, so it did remind me slightly of Throne of Glass, only because of the scheming, plotting and betrayal.  I would recommend Glitter to a reader who likes unique, intriguing books, with a touch of futuristic elements in it.

Leave a Reply

