Warcross (by Marie Lu) Review

I’ve read most of Marie Lu’s books. I really loved The Young Elites, it was my favorite Marie Lu book until I read Warcross. The universe of Warcross is futuristic, amazing, and immediately pulls you in. I like technology and sci-fi, so when Warcross combined the two, it was a brilliant story filled with twists and turns.

 

Emika Chen is a strong, smart, and clever character. Unlike most female leads in books, Emika is a hacker, a coder, a gamer. I appreciated how Mrs. Lu incorporated technology in Warcross. Not many authors go in that direction, but with new leaps forward in the field of technology (such as the Nintendo Switch, new iPhone), technology does play an important role in our lives. In Warcross, that’s not always a good thing. Emika  is a likable character. Throughout the whole book, you want her to succeed. She has had a hard past, and she’s struggling to overcome her fears, and move on.

 

Synopsis from Warcross

 

Warcross

 

When a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

 

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down Warcross players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty-hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. To make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

 

 

My Thoughts

 

The story is just amazing…….yet a little scary. The game Warcross is a huge deal, and everyone, literally everyone in the world has played it, or at least knows about it. Emika doesn’t have time to play it as much as other people, because ever since a family tragedy struck, she’s been living in horrible conditions, and trying to make end’s meet by becoming a bounty hunter. She has amazing coding skills, so when she glitches herself in the game, you know that this book is going to be great.

 

I really liked how in-depth Marie Lu went with describing the game Warcross. In a way, it’s like Google Earth meets Pokémon Go, but better. With the Neuro Link, (the device you use to play Warcross) you can visit anyplace in the world, and play a game that, if you’re skilled enough to win, earns you big-time cash. It’s no wonder why in Warcross everyone is obsessed with it. It’s like living in a different world, a different reality.

 

To sum up

 

Warcross is a fast-paced book. It’s an adventurous and unique book. The ending was totally unexpected, so now I’m eagerly awaiting the sequel (Warcross is a series) because it’s a really good read. I recommend this book to readers who like Sci-fi or YA novels.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s